Congratulations to Derek Collins, Hattiesburg HS Student Body President who was named the 2017 Magnolia District (Mississippi) Student of the Year. He was also named a four-time qualifier as he qualified in Duo Interpretation and will represent Mississippi in Birmingham this June at the 2017 National Speech and Debate Associations National Championships! Collins is the third Hattiesburg HS student in the past seven years that has been named MS Student of the Year and is pictured with 2010 National Student of the Year-Hattiesburg HS and Vanderbilt graduate Cory Williams. Jarrius Adams, Hattiesburg graduate, was the 2015 National Student of the Year.