Colors were posted by the HHS JROTC Color Guard. Mr. Savage and Mr. Peyton gave a breif presentation about taking some students from Mary Bethune to a "Youth About Business Conference."


Truman Atkins from Energy Education presented an Energy Conservation Award to HPSD for the district’s energy conservation efforts. Board President Marcus Cathey, Board Members, Superintendent James Q. Bacchus, Electrician & Energy Education Specialist Richard Bennette, and Director of Maintenance Willie Burton accepted a banner proclaiming the savings and environmental impact of HPSD energy conservation program. HPSD energy conservation efforts have reduced energy usage by 9,474 MMBTU, or the equivalent of 928 metric tons of carbon dioxide emissions or equal to taking 167 cars off the road for a full year or 23,746 pine trees growing for ten years! 


Jeff Bryant and members of the Hub City Kiwanis Club donated an AED (Automated External Defibrillator) to the district, which was accepted with great appreciation by the Board and Superintendent James Q. Bacchus. AED’s are portable devices that can be used in case of a person having a cardiac arrhythmia to allow the heart to reestablish a normal rhythm through electronic shocks. The devices are automated and will only use defibrillation if the person needs it. These life-saving devices can are taught in many first aid trainings and are designed to be simple to use for the layman.


This month included the first Employee of the Month recognitions of the year. Congratulations to all who were recognized for their outstanding work and dedication.



Stephanie Holcombe – Thames

Kashika Burkett – Grace Christian Elementary

Willie “Peggye” Bush – Bethune

Janice Jones – Burney

Alice Loper – Hawkins

Janet Smith – Rowan

Ashli Coleman – NR Burger

Shellie Sims – Woodley

Louise Millsap – HHS





Elvira Deyamport – Thames

Shalanda Kirksey – Grace Christian

Howard Savage – Bethune

Mary Spencer – Burney

Cynthia Williams – Hawkins

Penny Barnes – Rowan

Jack Coleman – NR Burger

D’Angela Durr – Woodley

Brandi Ousby – HHS

DISTRICT: Cynthia Williams


All schools improved their scores on the state tests (MCT2 & SATP) last year. HHS 9th Grade Academy was recognized for being designated a STAR SCHOOL by the Mississippi Department of Education. HHS Principal Robert Sanders accepted a special award from the Board on behalf of the 9th Grade Academy.


HPSD Business Manager Frank Aderholdt received a special award on behalf of the HPSD Business Office for "Dedicated Service, Sound Fiscal Management and Business Oversight."


The Board changed its policy for scheduling of Board Meetings. The Board will now have a work session on the first Monday of each month. Board Meetings will now be scheduled for the first Thursday following the first Monday of each month.


The Board approved the District Test Security Plan as presented and approved an agreement with JBHM. Also approved having online AP & Core courses.


The next HPSD Board Meeting will be Thursday, November 10, 2011, at 6pm.

Views: 59

Tags: Board


You need to be a member of Hattiesburg Public School District to add comments!

Join Hattiesburg Public School District

© 2014   Created by Administrator.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service